Saaz: Unique Music by Ustad Zakir Hussain

19 Mar

Saaz was a film OST which released around 1995.  It had music by multiple composers like Ustad Zakir Hussain, Raj Kamal and Vanraj Bhatia.  Ustad had composed 3 tracks for this movie and all 3 had a stamp of class written all over them. The other tracks were good too but these 3 were outstanding! The tracks composed by Ustad were:

  1. Kya Tumne Hai-Sung by Kavitha Subramaniam-It starts with beautiful hummings, finger sounds (thats Zakir for you!) with tabla bols and taals.  Besides having a merry tune, the song has great rock guitar pieces and use of multiple voice layerings for Kavithaji’s voice.
  2. Raat Dhalne Lagi-Sung by Kavitha Subramaniam-This song is what I call a vintage song because Ustad uses so many Indian sounds/instruments making it a must-listen.  Sarod is rarely heard in film music and this song has awesome Sarod interludes adding to the melody.
  3. Phir Bhor Bhaee-Sung by Devki Pandit-Another very melodious number based on Raag Bageshri characterized by soothing sitar interludes. Again very PURE Indian music.

I wish Ustad had composed for more Hindi movies, though he has composed for a few movies like Mr & Mrs. Iyer. I think Saaz is Ustad’s best film music album. I searched for this album in many music shops for almost 5 years but in vain. Recently, I found it on the net and had no option but to download it.


2 Responses to “Saaz: Unique Music by Ustad Zakir Hussain”

  1. dina March 20, 2009 at 5:07 am #

    congrats Prakash, this post was part of Google’s cool feed suggestions in their google reader section

  2. Daniel Thomass October 3, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Hey It is an amazing album apart from ustadji how could you miss out the evergreen “Badal Gumad Ghir aye”. The rendition by both Suresh Wadekar and Kavita Krishnamurthy are so awesome that it really feels how underrated these two gems of Hindi playback singing are…Similar, is the rendition of the awesome number of “Sune wale sun lete hain” – a classic number by Sureshjii and the two kids(they have grown up now)…the album was amazing … I still listen this numbers on youtube..and it gives me relief that in this age of cacophony youtube still brings you gems of music with visuals.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: